14.8 C
New York
Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Buy now

COVID-19 Task Force issues vaccine ultimatum to Federal civil servants

The Presidential Steering Committee (PSC), on Wednesday, October 13, said that civil servants would from Dec. 1 present proof of COVID-19 vaccination or negative Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), tests conducted within 72 hours to have access to offices.

The Chairman, PSC, on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha disclosed this during the presidential press briefing on COVID-19 in Abuja on Wednesday, October 13.

Mustapha, who is also the Secretary to Government of the Federation, said that the move was to encourage the vaccination rate across the country.

According to him, with effect from Dec. 1, 2021, Federal Government employees shall be required to show proof of COVID-19 vaccination or present a negative COVID-19 PCR test result done within 72 hours.

He said that this was to gain access to their offices in all locations within Nigeria and the Missions adding that an appropriate service-wide advisory/circular would be issued to guide the process.

He also advised Nigerians to increase vigilance during the festive period.

“The PSC wishes to put Nigerians on notice that two major religious festivities (Salah and Christmas) are approaching; and we shall be experiencing increased passenger traffic in and out of the country.

“Similarly, events of large gatherings are likely to hold. While the PSC prepares to escalate surveillance; and other control activities, we urge States and all Nigerians to also increase their vigilance; and take measure to moderate activities,” he added

Also Read: CBN to ban BVN violators from banking services

Mustapha said, “Statistics generated over the last four weeks on testing; have shown that the trend of infection is going down in some states while in others, the trajectory is upward.

‘’The combined total for testing by PCR and RDT now stands at about 3, 141, 795 persons.

“The Aviation authorities in collaboration with the diplomatic sector have made reasonable progress; in collaboration with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; discussions are still ongoing with the UAE Authorities to resolve the impasse.”

Mustapha, however, said the decision to remove South Africa, Turkey, and Brazil from the restriction list had been made.

The PSC had placed a restriction on Turkey, Brazil, and South Africa; due to the upsurge in the number of COVID-19 cases.

According to him, over several months, four countries were placed on high-level restrictions for travelers from such countries.

IMB Kallamuhttps://4wardwego.com.ng
Award winning Blogger | Influencer | Digital Marketing Strategist | Content Creator | Lover of Entertainment.... On a journey to conquest. Hit me Up: +234 09010888777

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles